The SCFA is a bargaining unit representing approximately 150 faculty and faculty assistants in the following areas: Business, Digital Media, Health Services, Kootenay School of the Arts, Music, Environment and Geomatics, and University Arts & Sciences, as well as librarians and counselors. We are a member (Local 10) of the Federation of Post-Secondary Educators of BC (FPSE).

The goals of the SCFA are to maintain and improve your salary and working conditions, give members a collective voice in presenting views and concerns to management, answer your questions and solve problems, and hopefully contribute to the fun and engaging atmosphere of teaching at Selkirk College!


The role of the Executive is to conduct business on behalf of the Association, communicate with members, carry out decisions made at general meetings of the Association, and to investigate and report on matters of interest.

Members of the Executive
Position Member
President Lui Marinelli
VP – Contract Administration Rebecca Jacobson
VP – Member Engagement Coby VanderGaast
VP – Negotiations Victor Villa
Secretary Jessica Wright
Treasurer Deborah Wilson
Retirement Issues Chair Shannon Shah
Rep to College Board* Jonathan Vanderhoek

* Observer status only. The elected rep for all college faculty is Carol Andrews.

FPSE Standing Committees

The SCFA has a representative on each of the ten FPSE Standing Committees. Members of standing committees meet with FPSE Executive members to Standing Committees to coordinate strategy and recommend policy and action plans which address current issues in their subject area.

  • Bargaining: Victor Villa
  • Contracts: Rebecca Jacobson
  • Disability Management: Sally Glock/Trish Foy
  • Education Policy: Tracy Punchard
  • Human Rights and Solidarity: Takaia Larson
  • Non-Regular Faculty: Leesa Dean
  • Pension Advisory: Shannon Shah
  • Professional Development: Rebecca Jacobson
  • Status of Women: Leanne Reitan/Paris Voykin
  • Health & Safety: Jason Da Costa
  • Indigenous Issues:  Sue Hackett


Article 9.6 of the collective agreement – Merit Recognition

The College shall annually deposit into a fund an amount of $4,000.00. Funds shall be administered by the Standing Committee on Professional Excellence (SCOPE) which shall be responsible for the judgment of professional excellence among faculty. The Committee will forward their decision to the College.

This Committee will consist of six (6) members elected by the Selkirk College Faculty Association and two (2) members appointed by the President.

  • Carol Andrews
  • Todd Kettner
  • Bodrun Nahur
  • Takaia Larsen
  • Tammy McLean
  • Deborah Wilson
  • Neil Coburn – President’s Appointee
  • Rhonda Schmitz – President’s Appointee


SCFA is an independent trade union affiliated with the following groups:

  • BC Federation of Labour: The British Columbia Federation of Labour represents 470,000 members of affiliated unions in more than 1,100 locals, working in every aspect of the BC economy.
  • Canadian Association of University Teachers: Founded in 1951, CAUT is the national voice for academic staff. Today, representing 55,000 teachers, librarians, researchers and other academic professionals and general staff, CAUT is an outspoken defender of academic freedom and works actively in the public interest to improve the quality and accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada.
  • Canadian Labour Congress: The Canadian Labour Congress is the largest democratic and popular organization in Canada with over three million members. The Canadian Labour Congress brings together Canada’s national and international unions, the provincial and territorial federations of labour and 137 district labour councils.
  • Federation of Post- Secondary Educators: The Federation of Post-Secondary Educators of BC is the provincial voice for more than 10,000 faculty and staff in public and private post-secondary institutions.
  • West Kootenay Labour Council: The WKLC was founded in 1958 and represent 6000 organized workers in the West Kootenays of British Columbia.

Recent Comments

    Follow Us on Facebook